Flight Training In The USA - What It's Like

Ever since I got my IFR rating and my commercial certificate, I’ve had multiple people PM me about the best route to take in terms of training. I though I’d help by putting up a thread about it.

A little about me: I am an FAA-certified commercial pilot, with about 300 hours flying experience. I’ve done all my training in Southern California, my home base being KVNY (Van Nuys), near Los Angeles, flying mostly Piper Cherokees, the PA-28-151/161/181 family.

FULL DISCLOSURE: I am not a CFI, or a professional career advisor. I am simply giving an outline of my own experiences and the experiences of others who I’ve spoken to in the real-world aviation community.

So here goes. In terms of flying training, there’s a few ways to go about it. I’ve divided my answer into sections from the best of my knowledge:

Type of Flight School:

Part 141 School

A Part 141 school is generally more expensive from what I’ve heard, but is a more ‘direct’ way to the airlines. It also gives you a guaranteed number of hours of ground training, a very structured curriculum for flying, and in-house checkrides, which don’t necessarily go on your record if you fail them. It’s a full-time pilot school, not a part-time thing, and you have less freedom to fly ‘for the love of flying.’ Part 141s generally costs about $80,000, but can vary. Check various Part 141 schools like Embry-Riddle etc. for their costs.

Part 61 School