First Flight lesson! any tips or tricks?

Hey guys I’m about to start flight lessons on Monday morning I’ll be flying the Cessna 172 and training at Windham Airport, CT (KIJD) I can’t wait! I’ve done some studying and I fly the 172 occasionally on the expert server so I have some experience but still a little clueless any tips or tricks that helped you guys?

6 Likes

Stay confident! We have your back! Good luck!

3 Likes

Yes what @Aviation2929 said!

3 Likes

We got ur back man!

1 Like

Thanks guys!

1 Like

My one tip:

Don’t count any simulation time as “experience”. Flying in any sim (wether it be FS2020, X-Plane, IF) is nothing like what you will do in the real plane. Sure the systems work similar, but the actual handling and flight as a whole is so different. When your instructor is talking to you, don’t toss anything over your shoulder because you’ve “seen it before”. Sim and RL are totally different and it is very important you treat them as such.

13 Likes

This ^^^

1 Like

Very true thank you!

1 Like

Being fair, I fly the 152 and have recently started using MSFS for some GA flying, I’m definitely impressed with what it can do and the real training I have done and can replicate. (Is also great for navigation especially as I live on the coast where landmarks, high winds with special inbound/outbound procedures are all in game near me as my home airport has a no fly zone directly next to it due to a nuclear power station)