Family Members In Aviation

I’ve noticed that there are quite a few real world pilots on this forum, but for most of us, we are just ordinary people with a passion for aviation. We all come from different backgrounds, and found our passion for aviation in different ways. So, do YOU have any family members who fly, work on planes, or just have an interest in them? Did they spark your interest in aviation? Let me know!

As for me, my cousin was a flight attendant for British Airways, my aunt is a senior flight attendant for a popular airline in Africa, and my uncle is an aerospace engineer for Northrop Grumman. They didn’t really spark my interest for planes, but it’s cool to talk to them about aviation!

6 Likes

Sadly, I don’t have any family members that are into aviation the same way I am. But my friend Phil(He’s my dad’s friend) is getting his PPL.

5 Likes

I dont know anyone in my family who is into aviation whatsoever! Yet Im a Student Balloon Pilot and aiming to fly Private Jets when I am older… :)

6 Likes

My cousin works for Robinson. She used to work for American Airlines at LAX, as a maintenance person in the hangars.

6 Likes

My Grandfather flew for Braniff, Piedmont, and USAir, and flew the 727, 737, and DC-9 during his career

Three of my uncles also fly.

One flies a 777 for United, another flew a 727, A300, MD-11F, and 747-400 for UPS, and the other flies a Blackhawk in the Army.

I hope to be the next one in the family to fly!

8 Likes

My family was shocked when I became interested in aviation because no one else was.

7 Likes

Don’t know anyone in my family that did anything aviation wide, so I guess I am a first generation avgeek!

2 Likes

My Mum works for BA on the ground, Grandma was an air hostess with BOAC and my Grandad was a FE on the Comet, VC-10 and Concorde. Safe to say he’s always been my role model.

2 Likes

I come from a Military family. Long history of the men in our lineage serving, and it’s what I plan to do too.