Expert pilots - how do you choose your airports

I really hope that with post we will get a better idea how you, as pilots choose the departure and destination airport on the Expert Server.

Scroll down to reply 38 in the tread and vote!

I’ve been a controller on Expert server for some time now, and here is what I (and many other IFATCs see):

See this?

• RPLL getting an unrealistic amount of traffic
  • RPVM is getting a few. But mostly outbound traffic to…guess where
  • five controllers being bored and wondering why they opened
  • several major (unstaffed, not in the schedule for that day) hub airports getting inbounds.

And if you think this is a one-off, it isn’t. This one is from the day I write this post.

See RCKH there on the picture? I had just been the controller for that airport for 90 mins and I’ve had 10 aircrafts, all outbound, of which two remaining in the pattern.

Guess what conversations we have on our internal IFATC chat when trying to find a new controller for an airport such as this. Here’s one of many many examples:

Would anyone blame JT here? Of course not!
Is it sad? yes but only if you’re the pilot who decided to set course to the airport. Because by the time he gets there, it will be unstaffed.

A few days ago I noticed this post:

This pilot, planning his flight, is showing the exact same behavior as the ones showing above in the Status screenshots: most of want to fly where the action is

Before I continue let us get one thing straight: unless an airport is full and controllers have to divert traffic to a nearby (staffed) airport, no one will ever tell you where you can or can’t fly. You’re the pilot, you choose.

So while I would never tell any pilot where to fly, or not fly, we do have to understand the consequences of our own behavior.

This is what I see for the smaller and non-hub airports: