Embarrassing Fear

I don’t really know why I’m making this post, but here I go. I have a ironic fear. Flying. I used to shudder at the thought of getting on a plane. This is one of the reasons I started playing IF. It came to me like this, if I can land a plane in a realistic flight simulator, then my odds are pretty good on a plane with a real trained pilot. I don’t know how, but because of this, I feel more at ease when getting on a plane. For this, I thank the people that make infinite flight. Not really sure why I decided to share, just popped into my head. Do you have any air related fears?

17 Likes

I am afraid of heights but somehow fine with flying. Thanks brain

16 Likes

I’m the same. If I get on a roof I freak lol

2 Likes

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.

3 Likes

I do fine with being enclosed in such heights like in an airplane and in a roller coaster but I get nervous when being at the top of a building at the edge. I can’t take open heights.

4 Likes

I used to have the biggiest fear of flying… I can’t describe how bad it was…
What got me over the fear was getting to meet the pilots and all of the staff after the flight. Having a at length conversation with the crew in the cockpit.
It was an amazing experience one I shall never forget. I now love flying, and I love planes.

1 Like

I have a little fear of flying but I want to be a pilot😂

2 Likes

2 Likes

That’s kinda like me. I have a flying school 300 yards away from my house, and I’ve kinda wanted to try it.

1 Like

Hmmm… Ice Climbing. Haven’t done that in a few years.

In regards to the OP, you’re on the right track if you want to try and conquer that fear.

http://www.bps.org.uk/news/afraid-flying-psychology-can-help-you-conquer-fear-blights-holidays

By using the sim you’re already kind of following one of the suggestions made by the BPS, “Show yourself how safe it is. Find out more about how planes fly and safety statistics”.