Earning My Private Pilot's License

Flying on my birthday and preparing for the checkride

My journey began when I was 10 years old. As a birthday present back in 2012, my parents purchased me an introductory flying lesson. Since my parents had to travel for work, I would fly with them a lot, which helped to establish and develop my interest in different transportation vehicles, especially airplanes. I would sit in the window seat, fascinated with what the airplane’s wing was doing. This introductory flight was my first chance to actually be at the controls of an airplane, which helped solidify my strong interest in aviation.

I continued taking flying lessons as the years went by and finally got serious with flying in 2018. With my interest in aviation growing, I manifested the goal of earning my Private Pilot License with the ultimate goal of earning it before I graduated high school. In April 2019, I was able to complete my first solo flight. This was an extremely exciting experience for me, and after it was done, it took me a little while to fully process what just happened… a significant amount of hard work and practice had to be put forth to get to that moment, and once I completed that flight, I realized that my upcoming milestones and the dream of earning my license were not-so-distant realities.

Taxiing during my first solo flight

Following this accomplishment, my next step was to complete my first 50-mile solo cross country flight. This flight was scheduled to be completed in March but unfortunately, the airport FBO closed due to COVID-19 and I was unable to do the flight. I was a bit disappointed, mostly because I was on track to complete the rest of the requirements for my license in the spring, and then pass my written exam and checkride going into the summer. Thankfully, our governor granted the airport permission to open back up again in June, and then I was able to continue my flight training.

On the ground in Nashua, NH