Do you use APPR?

Hell IFC, do you use APPR on approach or do you use the heading autopilot. Or do you use NAV1 Just wanna know what everybody else does.

2 Likes

Nope, never use APPR. I’ve never used it before, apart from a few times on solo where I tried it out and I plan to keep it that way. I don’t see the fun of just wacking on a button and letting the aircraft do all the work. Hand flying is my favourite part of any flight, where you can have a chance to actually control your aircraft yourself, which is why I always wait a while before engaging autopilot and never use APPR. I would rather fly the plane than watch it fly itself.

10 Likes

If low visibility, yes until I can see the runway, but otherwise, no…

2 Likes

Do you use Heading or NAV1

1 Like

You use NAV1. Go to the airport info, click ‘Runways’ - click on the ILS for the runway you want (if it has it) and then click ‘Tune to NAV1’.

1 Like

I know how to do that, I just want to know what other people do. Thanks though😀

2 Likes

No problemo…

No, I fly the approach completely by hand.

4 Likes

Sometimes il fly the whole thing with not autopilot by complete visual reference or sometimes il tune the ILS in and hand fly whilst staying roughly on the glidepath

1 Like

I never use autopilot on my landings. Ever.

If you’d like to know my full procedure and technique please feel free to PM me :)

It’s not nearly as fun

APPR is really unstable, so I never use it.

1 Like

Might I suggest a poll.

• Yes, I use APPR
  • No, I don’t use APPR

0 voters

Hey y’all! It’s me, your friendly anti-APPR advocate, and avid hand flying supporter.

Here’s what hand flying benefits:

I hand fly up to 5,000 at a minimum on all departures and from about 3000 minimum for arrivals.

Here’s what it benefits:

1. Realism. Pilots rarely use APPR, if ever.
  2. Better takeoffs. You’ll fly smoother, and handle winds and short runways better, because you know how to fly the plane.