Different runway after go around

Lets say you were controlling at egll and N172SP was landing on runway 27L and you told him to go around for some reason. After the go around you want him to land on 27R instead of 27L. Would you say “N172SP, go around make right/left traffic runway 27L or 27R”?

1 Like

I would say go with a pattern instruction such as enter ___ Runway ____

2 Likes

Well I’m not an ATC expert, but telling someone to change patterns on parallel runways is rather unrealistic, as the right runway makes right traffic, and the left runway makes left traffic.

But if you were to say that, its like this: N172SP enter Left base Runway 27L. Not 100% sure though, as I’ve never encountered this before.

1 Like

So the runway that they were going to land on? Which is 27L in this case

1 Like

I’m not a expert but I’m saying maybe a pattern instruction will be good. Don’t take my advice I would wait for a IFATC

1 Like

Yeah I’m waiting for ifatc to see this as well

1 Like

If you want them to switch to runway 27R while going around, you could say “go around, make right traffic runway 27L. Once they are on right downwind for 27L you say “enter right downwind runway 27R.”
Additionally you can say go around make left traffic runway 27L and once they are on left downwind runway 27L, say enter left downwind runway 27R and take it from there.
But while doing these, just make sure they aren’t going to create any conflicts with departing/arriving traffic.

1 Like

Oh okay thanks that makes sense

1 Like

@Plane_geek_101But what if it was somewhere like KLAX and they were landing on 25L and you wanted them to switch to 24R? A right downwind wouldn’t be close enough to 24R

1 Like

Well you can still make him go left traffic just tell them to enter left downwind runway 27R

1 Like

Yeah, that’s what I meant.

1 Like