Communication with central control ATC during long haul flights

Hello all,

I am quite new in IF. IF in 20.1 introduced center control frequency. Right now I am using a training server, where the change of ATC is quite chaotic, so the person in charge of the ATC zone can change a few times during the flight following in one particular zone. I had a situation when I have made “check-in” in the central control zone, got commands from ATC, and follow them. After 10 minutes ATC person in charge changed and I got a warning message. During long haul flights, it was previously possible to do other things (sleep, for example, go shopping, etc) meanwhile your plane is on autopilot with predefined flight plan. So of my friends have been flying during night time ( take off before going to bed, stand up a few hours before landing and land). And I think that it is possible right now to be ghosted and reported if you move somewhere from your pad during the flight.

How are you dealing with long haul flights with 20.1? For example, how to perform 17 h flights from Sydney to London? What about situation with long haul flights at the Expert server?

Best regards,
Artem

1 Like

When leaving your device you will be recognised as not active, and when passing center airspace you won’t be given commands, not risk being ghosted.

I also would like to recommend you to have a look at the IF Guide linked below for more information:

3 Likes

You will not be bothered by ATC if you are away while cruising. Just don’t use a FL thats not a multiple of 10 (obviously). I have also been told NOT to use Chinese RSVM when under ATC control.

3 Likes

Hey! I would checkout this topic. You don’t need to be with Center the whole time.

2 Likes

Okay! Thank you! That’s clear!

You have to be with Center but you don’t have to be active*

1 Like

Thank you, I will check it again.