College Flight ratings

I will be starting college this up coming fall i wanna get mostly everything planned out i wanna to know which ratings i get while in school and which one to avoid , my parents want to get a estimate on how much my ratings are going to cost me , it would get for some advice from people that been through college and others who are still in college. Also my school offers the united avaite program which i wanted to know if thats another thing i should look into or avoid

1 Like

Well what’s your goal?

I am currently a professional flight major at Auburn University. The flight school here has treated me quite well. I would recommend getting your private pilot license out of the way before going to college.

1 Like

Oh ive been heavily looking into that and the aviation management degree there for college. I may have some questions for you.

I know of a 2 year school that gets y’all your ratings. It’s quite cheap and you can get an RATP

Feel free to reach out

1 Like

I want to able to go right into cadet program right out of college , is a multi engine instructor rating worth it for the short time until i get my ATP rating ?

I wish i could’ve done thag , but it was cheaper to just get mines in college

ME in general is a very expensive rating, and to get your ME instructor rating I believe you need 15 hrs PIC time. Which if your paying 500 dollars an hour, it adds up quick ($7,500)

If you want it and you have the funds, go for it…

The school im going to is offering MEI for $2000-$3000 but i dont know how update this price is

But do you think its a Necessary rating?

Necessary, maybe not. You’ll need at least a multi endorsement to get an ATP as far as I recall. I assume you’re in the United States?

Yes, i live in the US

Awesome love to see it congratulations on getting accepted!