[CLOSED] Is it ever too cold for a plane to take off?

I was curious if there is a temperature on the ground that a plane can not take off? Looking for articles or pilots/engineers who may know the answer to this question. When considering air density/air temperature/takeoff/landing speeds etc.

What do the really cold temperatures do to an aircraft for taking-off? Is there a point when it is just too cold for an aircraft to get lift?

Thanks - A Curious Aircraft Enthusiast.
-J

I mean if the jet fuel freezes it can but it looks like it is only an extreme case of -40 degrees F. So theoretically yes. I haven’t been in that situation though where freezing is an issue as I live down in the South.

1 Like

I’m no expert on fueling jets though so.

1 Like

I am not to sure i am not a physicist but i can give it a go…
Well from past experience when i travelled to Iceland are departing flight had to be deiced twice due icicles forming on the wings and the fuselage of the aircraft. I know the cold can affect the lift of the aircraft as i presume the thinness of the air affects lift. Not to sure if aircraft have minimum operating temperatures like cars have.

1 Like

I’m not quite sure myself if the cold itself will hinder a plane from taking off other than cold weather bring a lot of other dilemmas. If the temperature goes below -0 Celsius, you’ll see ice building up on the wings of an plane. Therefore we in North, have de-icing, which takes time, ultimately leading to delayed flights or even in extreme cases cancelled flights. Ice on the wings, can jam the flaps, the ailerons and ice on the tail can jam the rudder.

Scandinavian Airlines Flight 751, Crashed after taking off from Stockholm on a cold winter morning, the cause was that de-icing has been poorly done and the ice had come lose when the plane got airborne, which the icicle parts got sucked in to the engines causing them to malfunction.