Checking In

I had a question about this. Ive looked around the forums and I have seen that this means:

“Im checking in with the tower. I am following my flight plan to the runway.”

I am one of those people that creates an elaborate flight plan to the runway and ending with the airports waypoint.

I constantly get “say intentions” from the tower after I check in.

Can the tower not see my flightplan when they click on my plane?
Do I have the meaning of Check in wrong?
Does the tower simply not know that is what it means?
Is there something I am missing?

2 Likes

I’m no expert do don’t solely believe me, you should check in then tell them if you are requesting a approach or flying VFR until then they will ask your intentions.

I always want to follow my real flight plan with SIDS and STARS but I never know what to tell them.

3 Likes

thats my issue, because I have tried following my flightplan both when the airspace is empty and busy to see if ATC does the same thing

1 Like

Most advance ATCs should know that by checking in you want to follow your flight plan, VFR is for General Aviation only so please don’t request that else you will be given a check help pages command.

If you just check in and we can see you’ve got a flight plan we will try our best to let you follow it but we will vector you if you are going to conflict with other traffic, whether that be mid flight or during your approach to fit you into an approach line.

This happens in real life when pilots file a flight plan, they can be vectored away from it.

3 Likes

now what is the difference between radar vectors and flight following?

Radar vectors will just direct you to the towers airspace at pattern altitude so the tower can fit you into there pattern as and where they see fit