Chart Help

Yup, I have another question about altitudes…

Source (Eurocontrol, no-copyright)

From what altitude am I allowed to deviate from R144? To me as a newbie to charts, it seems like I am also never allowed to fly under 1700ft… So, can I fly lower and when can I get off R144? Help would be appreciated!
This chart is for LGSR (Santorini)

3 Likes

1700 feet is your minimum until you see the runway environment, or until you reach your missed approach point (and you do not have the runway environment in sight) in which you follow the missed approach procedure.

3 Likes

In the US we have something called a VDP, which is a visual descent point for non precision approaches (like gps(no lpv) or vor which tells us where we can descend once we have the runway environment in sight, in a continuous position to land… etc

Not sure if europe has something like that because im a us pilot, so… ill defer to someone else on that

Thanks a lot! Is that knowledge required, or can you read that info from the chart? Like an abbreviation or something that states that that rule is in place

For sure its required knowledge. You never want to bust minimums before you have the runway environment in sight (thats why its there, for purposes of obstacle clearance and safety)… MAPt means Missed Approach Point on the chart.

2 Likes

Thanks! I am still new to altitudes and charts in general, so your help is greatly appreciated. This minimum rule applies to every procedure (also ILS) right? But with ILS the minimums are lower I imagine. Or aren’t there any for ILS because of autoland

1 Like

Yes because that type of approach provides vertical and lateral guidance, so glideslope and localizer respectively

1 Like

Ok thanks! I will keep an eye out for minimums from now on

1 Like

ILS mins can go down to 200-300 ft off the ground

1 Like