Can you help me to understand ATC?

Hello!

I would like to know :

1. What is Radar Vectors? And when to request them?
  2. What to answer when the controller say “Say Intentions”?
  3. When to ask to climb/descent? (I know, some will tell me “When you want to descend!” but sometimes the controller say "Only request descend/climb when I forgot).

Thank’s in advance,
Captain M.

1 Like

Wow, you have much to learn…

Well… that’s not really cool for me to read that… I am a beginner, (And I think you guest it ;-)).

And that exactly what I want to do : learn. I am just asking for help, if someone can give me and answer or links to tutorials or something like that, it would be nice :-).

2 Likes

Hi,
Unless someone corrects me, and please do if I’m wrong, but I believe the answers to your questions are as follows.

1. radar vectors are requested to ATC when heading to a specific airport and the respective ATC will advise heading, speed and altitude.
  2. say intentions, i just announce which airport and runway I’m landing on.
  3. usually ATC will advise, if not, I just do what I think is right.

Please note, I’m still a novice at this and am still learning so hopefully someone else might be able to put me straight or elaborate.

I hope this is of some help.

Ta.

@CaptainM

When you approach airport tune in to approach frequency and ask for “VECTOR” direction to Active runway or specific runway, he’ll give instructions for direction-attitude-speed to intercept localiser. Once you are there tune in to Tower:
Let him know “you are on final to land/touch&go”

If there is no approach frequency, Tune into tower tell him you are “INBOUND” to land/touch&go. He’ll direct you to runway

If you are doing pattern work you don’t need to call every leg of the flight but Base and final I always do. Tower knows you doing pattern bcos you diclared it when you took off.

If you don’t do any of this that when Tower ask you to “SAY INTENSION”