Can IFATCs get violations

I was just wondering if IFATCs can get violations. I was looking at violations and noticed that IFATCs don’t seem to have criteria for violations. Blog posts also don’t seem to have this particular topic. I’m relatively new to infinite flight and may want to become an IFATC in the future.

5 Likes

Yes, they are a pilot just like anyone else. If a controller receives a level 2 or level 3 violation they are suspended from IFATC until their violation expires.

20 Likes

Yes, IFATC are not special when flying as pilots and can receive violations the same as everybody else. In addition, there are sanctions in terms of IFATC suspension for receiving them.

2 Likes

May I ask what are the different criteria on IFATC getting different levels of violation and do they get it often?

1 Like

Those are the same violations that a normal pilot receives. Level 2 is for less serious offenses (pushback without permission) while level 3 are more serious (taxiing though others). These are all defined by the system and given by controllers.

For more information on the violation system you can reference our docs at https://infiniteflight.com/guide/getting-started/pilot-user-interface/violations

3 Likes

The only exception is with level 1 violations. If you get 5, you are banned from flying on the expert server for a week, just like everyone else. However, we are still able to control.

2 Likes

We’re trained and tested to become controllers, not pilots.

3 Likes

Exactly. IFATC‘s have to recognise the rules anyway and probably automatically make fewer mistakes.

1 Like

Now I’m wondering if staff can get violations.

Technically, yes. But I don’t think a controller would want to mess with them.
Also, staff know the rules - they set them 😂 - so they’re unlikely to break them. Like IFATC, they enforce the rules, so they know what they are and follow them.