Booted from server question

Firstly, apologies if I’ve posted this in the wrong area!

I’m new to the expert server and I have a question in regards to why I was booted / ghosted on approach to LEMD. This post is by no means a moan, rather a learning curve for myself to improve, to recognise where I may have gone wrong.

I had filed to land runway 32L, however the centre controller vectored me on descent to expect runway 32R. No issues. I retuned the NAV ILS for this. I followed all descent and heading instructions and was handed off to the approach controller.

The approach controller was vectoring me, providing me altitudes and various headings. I was told to expect runway 32L and to follow a heading until established on the localiser. So again, I retune NAV ILS back to 32L. I’m told not to exceed 180 knots. I maintain this speed on the altitude and heading given.

The problem is, the heading assigned to me never aligned me with the localiser and I end up just drifting past it. ATC contact me saying I’m aligned to the wrong runway and literally 10 seconds later, I’m disconnected.

My question is simply, why?

I followed all commands, headings, speed and altitudes. Have I gone wrong in that I should have turned to my own heading to establish myself? I wondered this when I realised I was never going to align with it on the instructed heading assignment but assumed I’d get a violation for altering my heading to what I wanted rather than what was instructed.

Any advice?

If you remember who the controller was, contact them privately by sending a PM. If you don’t, contact the appeals team and they’ll get you sorted.