Best US Mileage System

Hello Guys,

Im here for advice today. If you don’t know, we will hopefully be immigrating to SFO soon, hopefully within the next year.

SFO has a lot of airlines serving it, but im looking for the mainline US carriers, like United, Delta, or American. I have done some research of my own, and found that it looks like United is leaning towards my preferences.

United has a credit card with Chase, we currently have a credit card with them, but we will probably be needing another card soon, and United has there Mileage Explorer Plus cards, so im thinking we go with them, and get those 30,000 or 40,000 miles, which i can’t remember, but it will get us Silver.

So right now im leaning towards United because of there vast route network, and partnership with SAA which means we could book through United and get miles. But, Delta operates direct to Johannesburg only, and no other destination.

But, im not experienced enough, so would a $2000 for three to SXM a good price? But it doesn’t say the miles.

So basically which is the best US Airline mile system? I’n not too keen on American but if it’s the best, then go ahead and say.

Please no arguing, and dumb answers based on no experience whatsoever.

6 Likes

Southwest has the most ‘effective’ system. (You will get the most for your miles and money). And their flights are usually pretty cheap, so that’s a plus.

Delta would be my second choice, they give a lot of opportunities outside of flying with them to gain miles, such as flying with their partners, using a specific type of credit card, etc.

9 Likes

Yeah, though from what i know, they don’t operate to South Africa, and i have a Delta Skymiles and flown by them, but, i didn’t find them to be very good. But i wasn’t joking at them very well either.

2 Likes

Lol didn’t know flights to South Africa was a necessity. I thought you wanted the best miles by US Carrier.