Being a pilot with Dyslexia

How much would having Dyslexia affect me becoming a pilot? I can read things, it just takes me a bit sometimes, and spelling can be hit or miss. Math also sometimes takes me an extra few seconds to work through, i can do it, I just need tiny think a bit more. Anyone have experiance with this maby?

11 Likes

Well I am a GA pilot IRL and I have ADHD and I am not the greatest at math. I would say as long as you can do it. It would really depend on what type of career you go into

3 Likes

Unfortunately, I don’t think you could be a commercial pilot with dyslexia, but I could be wrong. On the other hand, you could probably be a recreational pilot, as long as you feel safe. I mean what’s gonna happen, flying is not nearly as much about reading as it is about being aware of your surroundings and being able to see (lol). :)

I just did some research. The only difficulties I found with being a GA pilot would be frequencies and acronyms.

I havent found anything to say it was very preventative, do you know whare you saw that?

For an airline pilot? I’m just assuming but like I said I could be wrong. I just think airlines are very strict about stuff like that.

For a GA pilot I found it on reddit (lol) but it does make sense.

According to the CAA Website:
https://www.caa.co.uk/Aeromedical-Examiners/Medical-standards/Pilots-(EASA)/Conditions/Psychology/Psychological-conditions/

1 Like

So I guess it depends on the severity of your Dyslexia, but it sounds like yours isn’t that bad. Hopefully you’ll be able to pursue your goal of being a pilot!

1 Like

As a professional pilot I can say you’re fine I have experience in this area.

3 Likes