Bad at maths and not doing physics but wanting to become a pilot

Hello,
(please delete if not allowed)

I am currently in 11th grade in Australia and after school im planning on training to become a pilot, and im not doing any physics but i AM doing Geography and Biology, but I am not that good at maths and I am just doing the lowest one (essential) and i know there are some student pilots on the IFC that might know about what levels of math you have to do. I have always been worried that i have bad math skills and i wont be able to become a pilot :(

Thanks.

3 Likes

Based on what I have heard, math isn’t as important as many think. As someone who suffers from dyscalculia, I understand where you are at. Based on what I’ve heard you only need basic arithmetic for the most part. There may be times you have to do more but we have calculators and Siri. Don’t let this slow you down!

11 Likes

If @jasonrosewell got his license, you should be fine. E6B will be your friend.

30 Likes

You can use a calculator and the math isn’t that hard. But some of the math will be useful if you memorized

Can’t speak of other countries but in the US that’s a non issue. Being good at mental math (adding/sub) is a huge plus. Speed vs time vs distance/ climb/decent rate needed to meet set altitude.

Never had to calc or physics equations. :)

As long as you are willing to study and work hard, you will pass everything with flying colors.

All the best

8 Likes

Been flying for a while now and while math is definitely a part of becoming a pilot, the math is not as difficult as you think. Simple addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division is the most that I have done.

You will need to be able to think critically at times, but you don’t need to have the math skills of an astrophysicist to become a pilot. If this is where your passion is, stick with it! It will be worth it in the end.

14 Likes

So much this!! Got me through it all!

3 Likes