[BA A35K] Deice Shots @ CYYZ | December 1st, 2019

The harsh Canadian winter has begun at Pearson. Last week, the second huge storm of the season blew in. While Pearson has very few good spots for regular spotting, we do have an easily accessible Deice Pad.

This is a collection of night shots only. The storm made it impossible to get good shots during the day.

Check the Visibility Here

His front lander is literally a foglight.

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s check out this mass operation at Pearson.

Equipment

Camera: Nikon D7500
Lens: Tamron 100-400 VC USD
Tripod: Manfrotto Element

Quick disclaimer: I’m still learning long exposures, the ground was pure mud and the wind was high (25 knots). Also you might see some fence in a few if you look closely, I had to keep my lens hood on because I didn’t want the freezing rain to damage my front element, so I was a bit further from the fence than I would’ve liked to been. For you nitpicky people some of the photos have tilted poles, I’m not sure why CDF is tilted but I’d assume for drainage, I just edited them like the planes were flat because I think it looks better.

This is the aircraft I came for since I missed it last time. This one happens to be brand new.

Sunwing has acquired so many leased aircraft that every aircraft looks different from all the others now.

941 is definitely the better looking of the two AC Star Alliance A330s, but you can’t tell from this angle.

Rouge 767s love to use the pad closest to the fence for some reason. But hey, I’m not complaining.

I’m not sure what you guys think of this shot but I love the low-vis effect.

I would’ve liked to see a 747 here but KLM decided to send a 77W today for some reason.

Pilots busy in the cockpit while 937 gets deiced for her flight to YUL.

For some reason I never realized that the pilots shut off the engine while the plane is being deiced. Saves 30 minutes of fuel I guess.