Autopilot On Approach

I’m curious how long other pilots use autopilot before touchdown. I’m brand new to multiplayer and nervous about violations and communications and as I’m messing with radios I start to turn and get off course or worse. So my last flight from SLC to DEN I controlled the plane (especially my speed) with autopilot until within ten miles and had called that I was on final. I turned it off when I was lined up and had decent visual on the runway from about 8-10 miles out. What do you do with AP on approach?

2 Likes

I generally disable it once my gear is down and flaps are at full. Typically around 2000ft AGL.

4 Likes

Hi there, I highly recommend this tutorial and the included video which features APPR/Autoland.

1 Like

I usually do the same, when about 6-8 NM from the airport. But it will also depend on the visibility and weather at the airport.

1 Like

I usually dissengage APPR ~300 feet AAL

1 Like

I usually turn it off once my localizer starts moving in and make the turn manually to capture it, and hand fly the ILS from there.

On some occasions, I use APPR to line up with the runway and shoot the approach, until my gear is down - then I turn it off and hand-fly the rest of the approach.

2 Likes

I am a hand-flier guy - I tend to hand fly the plane for most of the approach once I am in the cone if weather conditions allow (Visibility specifically). I believe it is a whole lot more fun!

Of course I still tune into the ILS Frequency so i can see the glide slope and localizer diamonds on my instruments.

Also, PAPI light wire important during visual approaches. So if 2/4 lights are red and the other half is white my height is perfect, if there are more reds I am low, and more whites, I and too high.

You don’t have to manually fly your approaches, you can turn off APPR at 3NM or 1000ft if you are not too comfortable with the approach but would still like to get the feeling of hand-flying.

Have a great day!

2 Likes