ATC issues @ EDDF

Has anyone had issues with the controllers giving very poor instruction, or doing things that don’t make sense? I’m an experienced pilot in real life and an avid player of IF. Today the approach controller assigned runway 07C — maintain current heading until established. His heading was no where near close to be able to be established on the localizer. I had to correct manually (After the controller said please follow instructions) wrong instruction I might add. Then I was handed off to the tower controller. I was assigned 07C, was on 07C glide slope, and when I contacted the tower I said inbound on the ILS 07C. I’m just a few miles from landing, then the tower controller says cleared to land 7R. Which was obviously the wrong runway. I was then told to follow directions (wrong directions again). I quickly ended my flight with the fear of getting reported, even though I was given wrong instruction the whole time I was in contact with controllers.

I know IFATC work very hard and for the most part do a very good job. But I have been noticing lately I have been given very wrong information and there is no way to communicate it to the controller while flying. Anyone else had any issues?

5 Likes

Hello,

Approach controllers aim to give you a 30 degree intercept for an ILS approach. Therefore the reason why the clearance was at 100, as that is 30 degrees to the runway heading of 070.

Hope this helps mate.

9 Likes

Hey @C-Rich22, do you by chance know the name of the controllers who were active during the time? Often times it is best to message them on the forum and discuss the service you received directly with them. If you don’t know their IFC name but know their name in IF, drop in here and you could be linked to their IFC profile.

1 Like

Yes I understand that. But the distance away from the airport I was approx. 30nm it missed completely. Not even close. I figured it was and was able to correct it without issue.

1 Like