ATC Instructions & Requests

A few questions on ATC

The last couple of days I’ve been flying out of EGLL and as you know the Airspace can be pretty busy. For instance I will be in contact with Heathrow departure but I will also have requests from Paris Centre and London Centre to join their radio frequency? Can the controllers not see that I am on the Heathrow departure frequency?

I’ve also on occasion taken off from EGLL and the tower controller will pass me onto departure who will then sometimes request I change frequency before I have even left EGLL air space?

I’ve also noticed while on the expert server the ATC services are not as populated as the training server?

I’m still learning IF and I’m also a Private Pilot so I try fly as close to reality as I can. I do hope to fly from Dublin to a GA airport close to a London one day if possible and using infinite Flight ATC is definitely helping me to deal with large volumes of ATC work.

Here’s a picture just because planes are cool 😎

Screenshot_20210609_162019_com.fds.infiniteflight_edit_70630704335575|820x439

2 Likes

Controllers have the ability to see what frequency you’re tuned into, but I’m assuming you were flying on training server which controllers are not properly trained. Some are learning others may be just controlling for “fun.”

Some times this is the case. Expert ATC is all voluntary so there’s no set requirements in terms of controllers controlling every day all hours of the day. While most times there’s a good amount of distribution of ATC service on expert, there’s going to be days where there’s not much ATC services.

Would recommend flying on expert server for a more professional experience with ATC. While, training server is good to get your feet wet — you’re likely going to experience ATC that might not seem like the are properly trained, which results in questioning what’s right & what’s incorrect.

5 Likes