APPR question

Hey y’all, I have a quick question. I was flying from SFO to PHNL flying a 787-9. I was on final and activated my APPR and I believe it said there was too much weight to activate. Needless to say, after a 5 hr flight, it ended badly. I panicked and I’m very bummed out and a little disappointed. Can anybody help me out with this? I think it’s because I’ve been carrying too much fuel for the longer hauls I’ve been attempting. What are some guidelines for how much fuel I need? I’m pretty new to this and don’t want to feel discouraged from trying this again. Just trying to get everything right.

Hello, you need to be below MLW (maximum landing weight) to use APPR.

It changes from aircraft to aircraft. The easiest way to check is if you view the “load” in the hud menu on the bottom of the screen. If it is yellow or red, you are above MLW and it will not work. If it is a white color, you are below MLW and it will work.

When flight planning, the easiest way to choose an appropriate weight is to open the weight and balance screen. Set your fuel to a lower value like 2-4 hours. Then adjust your pax and cargo weight so the load measure stays green while you are still at 2-4 hours of fuel. Then load the fuel and start the flight.

You can manually land the aircraft above MLW, the game doesn’t penalize you in any way; you just can’t use APPR. If you are above MLW, you can consider using a fuel dump. Some aircraft can do this, some can’t.

5 Likes

What he said 😂

2 Likes

I still need practice landing manually. I’ve only recently (past 2 or 3 flights) using the APPR. This time however, I just panicked and botched the whole thing. It’s pretty embarrassing to be honest. I think I was relying on the APPR too much.

1 Like

Thank you for the clear and direct answer. I really appreciate the help!

2 Likes

You should really practice manual a lot. Real world pilots use it more than the auto land. It is also really easy to get the hang of.