AndrewWu's 2020 Spotting Year In Review | Part 2

Hello community!

Welcome to Part 2 of my end-of-year spotting review. No other introduction needed.



Greater Rochester | August 23rd, 2020

The result of some planning, some luck, and a lot of struggles trying to get out of bed. Looking back I should’ve hiked the shutter speed a little more to freeze the background but nothing I can do now.

f/8 1/500 ISO50 @ 100 mm


Greater Rochester | September 15th, 2020

Went airside again, this time armed with my new Sigma 18-35. Sensational lens, would 100% recommend if you’re looking for a lens in this sector. Beacon shot for @LordWizrak.

f/11 15" ISO250 @ 35 mm


Buffalo Niagara | September 26th, 2020

This shot is borderline bad (blame the lack of light) but the fact that I got to see one of these was cool. Bringing in the Los Angeles Rams.

f/8 1/200 ISO250 @ 290 mm


Buffalo Niagara | October 31st, 2020

After sitting dormant for a couple of weeks, this 767 had engine problems in Boston. Was disappointed I couldn’t get it in solid afternoon lighting at first but this works too.

f/8 1/400 ISO160 @ 170 mm


Buffalo Niagara | November 14th, 2020

I have no idea why Delta decided to drop an A350 as a charter but absolutely not complaining. Took a risk and panned it.

f/13 1/50 ISO50 @ 100 mm


Greater Rochester | November 19th, 2020

My only DC-9 to date, after a snowstorm caused me to miss a USAJet one. Beacon shot for @LordWizrak.

f/8 1/320 ISO160 @ 400 mm


Greater Rochester | November 19th, 2020

I don’t normally take photos of people, but here’s @Ashea58 with his flight training aircraft, a Diamond DA40XLS. Posted with his permission.

f/8 1/640 ISO80 @ 100 mm


Greater Rochester | November 21st, 2020

Following seven months in storage, Blueprint returned home to its Boston base. The JetBlue gods were kind to us.

f/8 1/40 ISO160 @ 120 mm


Greater Rochester | December 3rd, 2020

2021 is in two days, so I’m anxiously waiting to see if FedEx intends to keep these aircraft on the Rochester route or if they’ll swap back to 767/A300 only.

f/8 1/500 ISO160 @ 400mm


Buffalo Niagara | December 27th, 2020

The NFL Season is already winding down, and the Bills are yet to board an aircraft on time. This was a 3:10 PM scheduled departure that left around 6:10 PM due to players not showing up on time. I didn’t bring my tripod because I wasn’t expecting to need it, but with a little luck and a lot of stability I got this. Beacon shot for @LordWizrak.

f/1.8 1/30 ISO400 @ 18 mm



Equipment

Nikon D7500
Tamron 100-400 mm f/4.5-6.3 Di VC USD
Sigma 18-35 mm f/1.8 DC HSM Art
Nikon AF-P DX 70-300 mm f/4.5-6.3G ED VR (OLD)
Tamron SP 45 mm f/1.8 Di VC USD (OLD)
Manfrotto Element Tripod

Previous Topics

Toronto Pearson International

Shiny Metal, Silhouettes, and Memories | CYYZ Spotting | February 22nd, 2020
[BA A35K] Deice Shots @ CYYZ | December 1st, 2019
Cathay & Air France Inaugural [A350] | October 27th, 2019
New Angles: Spotting @ CYYZ | October 27th, 2019
Arrivals, Departures, and Night Shots | CYYZ Spotting September 1st & 2nd, 2019
A Beautiful Afternoon @ CYYZ | PART 2
A Beautiful Afternoon @ CYYZ | July 27th, 2019
AIR DRAKE visits Toronto | July 27th, 2019
Lufthansa A350’s Inaugural Flight @ CYYZ | March 31st, 2019
Snow Storm Spotting @ CYYZ | March 31st, 2019
Boxing Day Spotting @ CYYZ | Featuring Hainan Red Kung Fu Panda | All Heavies
New Camera Equipment | 5 Shots from CYYZ | November 25th, 2018
6 More Quick Shots @ CYYZ | October 20th, 2018
Spotting Session @ CYYZ | A Few Quick Pics
CYYZ Runway 5 Movements | September 8th, 2018 | Spotter Advice Requested!
CYYZ | Runway 23 (Airport Road) Arrivals | August 24th, 2018 | Featuring a Surprise Visitor!
CYYZ RWY 5 Arrivals @ Dixie Road - 5/6/18

Greater Rochester International

DC-10s visit Rochester [and an A300]
A Special, A Classic, A Sunset | Rochester Spotting
Airside with a 737 Freighter | September 15th, 2020
The Sky On Fire | Rochester Spotting | August 23rd, 2020
Airside with a 727 Freighter | June 29th, 2020
Two Smoky FedEx 767 Landings @ KROC | June 2020
Spotting A Community Member @ KROC | June 14th, 2020

Other Canadian Airports

A Beautiful Sunset | Spotting @ CYVR | August 31st, 2019
[WESTJET 787] Golden Hour @ CYYC | August 27th, 2019
YUL Spotting | April 7th, 2019

Other American Airports

November Sports Charters | Heavies @ KBUF
October Sports Charters | Heavies @ KBUF
September Sports Services | Chartered Heavies @ KBUF
[MORE TO LOVE] Seattle Spotting Part 2 | August 24th, 2019
Sea-Tac Spotting Part 1 | August 24th, 2019
[DREAMLIFTER] Spotting @ KPAE | August, 23rd, 2019
[ALL HEAVIES] Spotting @ KJFK | August 17th, 2019
JFK Spotting [PART 2] | June 28th, 2019
JFK Spotting [ALL HEAVIES] | June 28th, 2019
Miami Spotting | 2/17/19

Other International Airports

Hot Air Balloon flight over Melbourne’s Yarra Valley | December 28th, 2019
Afternoon Departures @ Melbourne Tullamarine [YMML] | December 27th, 2019
Sydney Finale | YSSY Spotting Part 4
I woke up at 4:30 AM for this | YSSY Spotting Part 3 | December 26th, 2019
Afternoon Heavy Rush @ YSSY | December 25th, 2019
[QANTAS 747] Dusk Pans at Sydney [YSSY] | December 23rd, 2019
Munich/Singapore Gate Spotting + In-Flight Pictures
Spotting at ZRH/LSZH | July 15th, 2019

Special Topics

AndrewWu’s 2020 Spotting Year In Review | Part 1
All About Southwest
Editing Your Photos
Aviation Photography Wallpapers
Celebrating Two Years of Aviation Photography
My Tribute to the Air Canada 767
IFC’s First 15 Spotter Collaboration Topic | Part 1
Old Shots, New Edits | Quarantine Things
Bored in Quarantine | Editing like IFC Spotters
[TOP 10 SHOTS] 2019 Spotting Year in Review

Tutorials

Shiny Aircraft - A Complete Tutorial
A Complete Guide To Aviation Photography [2020]
10 Mistakes of New Spotters [and how to fix them]

Thanks For Viewing and Happy New Year!

51 Likes

First!!
Very sexy Andrew

1 Like

Second. Nice Photos Andrew!

1 Like

Wow your pictures are so poggers!

2 Likes

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG

BACON

1 Like

Secksy 😶😶😶

1 Like

If it’s still that way then your probably in the clear. Day after Christmas was probably the real moment of truth because there are all sorts of weird schedules during the holidays.

1 Like

Hit me with them UWU shots

2 Likes

da big secks

Ok cool, I have high hopes.

Please do not refer to them as such.

Thanks!

This is a pog moment.

3 Likes

This shot is borderline bad

Me, someone who doesn’t know anything about spotting, doesn’t see anything wrong with it and thinks it’s amazing

1 Like

I’m glad you do! It’s mainly just because I was expecting crazy lighting but because their taxi took so long the sun pretty much went down, wasted potential is all.

1 Like

Andrew face reveal? 👁

Nice shots as always, Andrew! 💤🔜

1 Like

More like @Ashea58 Silhouette reveal 😎

1 Like

Accurate

Thanks!

2 Likes

One of my best pics from this year

Cool. You can post your own topic for it.

4 Likes

way to pop off 😳

3 Likes

I’m trying to be helpful 😂

2 Likes

no, to ur topic you silly goose

4 Likes

Oh I have the IQ of an egg.

6 Likes