AndrewWu's 2020 Spotting Year In Review | Part 1

Hello community!

Welcome to Part 1 of my last topic of the year (my second to last, I guess). 2020 has been a crazy year, and the pandemic has severely limited my spotting opportunities this year. Regardless, I put together this spotting-year-in-review topic. These are not my best shots but rather, my best moments. Fair warning, this includes some 2019 shots, but they were taken after I posted my 2019 topic, so I have included them here.



Sydney Kingsford Smith | December 25th, 2019

Sydney is quite famous in the spotting world for their 16R arrival skyline shots. As you can imagine, I was sorely disappointed to have three days of almost exclusively 34 operations. Luckily, very heavy aircraft depart low enough over the city that it’s possible to frame them together.

f/8 1/800 ISO125 @ 100 mm


Sydney Kingsford Smith | December 25th, 2019

We’ve lost a lot of legends this year, and this is one of them. Got super lucky to have been able to see not one, but two Qantas 747s in Sydney.

f/8 1/640 ISO250 @ 340 mm


Melbourne Tullamarine | December 27th, 2019

Here’s a bucket list airline. Royal Brunei has no presence in the Western Hemisphere (except for Heathrow). Got some decent lighting to go along with it as well.

f/8 1/1000 ISO100 @ 200 mm


Yarra Valley | December 28th, 2019

Not a plane, but still a cool moment so I’m including it. Global Ballooning (and plenty of other companies) offer early-morning flights over the scenic Yarra Valley. Totally worth the (admittedly very high) cost and early wake up call.

f/2.5 1/25 ISO160 @ 45 mm


Frankfurt am Main | January 1st, 2020

My first spotting session of 2020. Unfortunately, the terrace at Frankfurt is always backlit for a large majority of the year. However, it is possible to get a few movements in decent light. I wish more American and Canadian airports provided designated spotting decks.

f/8 1/500 ISO100 @ 180 mm


Baltimore Thurgood Marshall | February 17th, 2020

At this point, the pandemic was starting to creep into news sources everywhere, but nothing super serious. This trip was to visit a few colleges, but I also found time to meet up with @HiFlyer at BWI for an hour or two of spotting. Here’s the highlight of that day.

f/8 1/800 ISO100 @ 240 mm


Hartsfield - Jackson Atlanta | February 19th, 2020

I don’t think I’ve ever posted from this session because the conditions were absolutely disgusting, but I have indeed spotted at Atlanta and it’s not as good as you might think. Regardless, a new airport is a new airport so here we go.

f/8 1/640 ISO160 @ 320 mm


Toronto Pearson | February 22nd, 2020

Remember when the US - Canada border was still open? Those were the good days. For one final spotting session at Toronto, this day was incredible. Traffic was strong and the lighting was beautiful. This shot still seems to be everyone on Instagram’s favorite from me.

f/8 1/500 ISO64 @ 112 mm


Greater Rochester | June 20th, 2020

After the world crashed and burned, I didn’t go spotting for a while. A combination of AP Exams and the pandemic kept me inside. Following the conclusion of my junior year, I decided to start spotting more again. Nature threw me a bone with the conditions on this one.

f/8 1/500 ISO125 @ 120 mm


Greater Rochester | June 29th, 2020

Before Kalitta moved all of these to a Miami base, they used to fly out of Cincinnati and we got them occasionally. By sheer luck, I was invited to go airside. Probably the coolest moment of the year. Looking back, I’m a little disappointed in myself for not knowing the ideal starburst setting for my lens.

f/8 15" ISO50 @ 45 mm



Equipment

Nikon D7500
Tamron 100-400 mm f/4.5-6.3 Di VC USD
Sigma 18-35 mm f/1.8 DC HSM Art
Nikon AF-P DX 70-300 mm f/4.5-6.3G ED VR (OLD)
Tamron SP 45 mm f/1.8 Di VC USD (OLD)
Manfrotto Element Tripod

Previous Topics

Toronto Pearson International

Shiny Metal, Silhouettes, and Memories | CYYZ Spotting | February 22nd, 2020
[BA A35K] Deice Shots @ CYYZ | December 1st, 2019
Cathay & Air France Inaugural [A350] | October 27th, 2019
New Angles: Spotting @ CYYZ | October 27th, 2019
Arrivals, Departures, and Night Shots | CYYZ Spotting September 1st & 2nd, 2019
A Beautiful Afternoon @ CYYZ | PART 2
A Beautiful Afternoon @ CYYZ | July 27th, 2019
AIR DRAKE visits Toronto | July 27th, 2019
Lufthansa A350’s Inaugural Flight @ CYYZ | March 31st, 2019
Snow Storm Spotting @ CYYZ | March 31st, 2019
Boxing Day Spotting @ CYYZ | Featuring Hainan Red Kung Fu Panda | All Heavies
New Camera Equipment | 5 Shots from CYYZ | November 25th, 2018
6 More Quick Shots @ CYYZ | October 20th, 2018
Spotting Session @ CYYZ | A Few Quick Pics
CYYZ Runway 5 Movements | September 8th, 2018 | Spotter Advice Requested!
CYYZ | Runway 23 (Airport Road) Arrivals | August 24th, 2018 | Featuring a Surprise Visitor!
CYYZ RWY 5 Arrivals @ Dixie Road - 5/6/18

Greater Rochester International

DC-10s visit Rochester [and an A300]
A Special, A Classic, A Sunset | Rochester Spotting
Airside with a 737 Freighter | September 15th, 2020
The Sky On Fire | Rochester Spotting | August 23rd, 2020
Airside with a 727 Freighter | June 29th, 2020
Two Smoky FedEx 767 Landings @ KROC | June 2020
Spotting A Community Member @ KROC | June 14th, 2020

Other Canadian Airports

A Beautiful Sunset | Spotting @ CYVR | August 31st, 2019
[WESTJET 787] Golden Hour @ CYYC | August 27th, 2019
YUL Spotting | April 7th, 2019

Other American Airports

November Sports Charters | Heavies @ KBUF
October Sports Charters | Heavies @ KBUF
September Sports Services | Chartered Heavies @ KBUF
[MORE TO LOVE] Seattle Spotting Part 2 | August 24th, 2019
Sea-Tac Spotting Part 1 | August 24th, 2019
[DREAMLIFTER] Spotting @ KPAE | August, 23rd, 2019
[ALL HEAVIES] Spotting @ KJFK | August 17th, 2019
JFK Spotting [PART 2] | June 28th, 2019
JFK Spotting [ALL HEAVIES] | June 28th, 2019
Miami Spotting | 2/17/19

Other International Airports

Hot Air Balloon flight over Melbourne’s Yarra Valley | December 28th, 2019
Afternoon Departures @ Melbourne Tullamarine [YMML] | December 27th, 2019
Sydney Finale | YSSY Spotting Part 4
I woke up at 4:30 AM for this | YSSY Spotting Part 3 | December 26th, 2019
Afternoon Heavy Rush @ YSSY | December 25th, 2019
[QANTAS 747] Dusk Pans at Sydney [YSSY] | December 23rd, 2019
Munich/Singapore Gate Spotting + In-Flight Pictures
Spotting at ZRH/LSZH | July 15th, 2019

Special Topics

All About Southwest
Editing Your Photos
Aviation Photography Wallpapers
Celebrating Two Years of Aviation Photography
My Tribute to the Air Canada 767
IFC’s First 15 Spotter Collaboration Topic | Part 1
Old Shots, New Edits | Quarantine Things
Bored in Quarantine | Editing like IFC Spotters
[TOP 10 SHOTS] 2019 Spotting Year in Review

Tutorials

Shiny Aircraft - A Complete Tutorial
A Complete Guide To Aviation Photography [2020]
10 Mistakes of New Spotters [and how to fix them]

Thanks For Viewing!

Part 2 Coming December 30th

69 Likes

nice job wuuster

1 Like

Thank yous

1 Like

That Emirates A380 🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩🤩

Wow! You are an insanely good photographer!

1 Like

Sheesh bud

1 Like

Do you travel to different places and countries just to spot?

1 Like

Bacon bacon bacon

1 Like

Excellent shots sir!

Bed time…

1 Like

No let me stay awake >:(

2 Likes

Omg Andrew how do you have time to go the whole world…especially Sydney!

1 Like

Thanks!

Indeed go to sleep

No

Bacon bacon bacon

it’s called family vacations

Nearby to me yes (like Toronto), the international trips are family vacations and I spot when I have free time

4 Likes

Nice photos Andrew! That Fedex one is looking sharp!

1 Like

Amazing pictures Andrew!

1 Like

Andrew mine was undoubtedly a better snap

1 Like

Thanks!

I have that angle too buddy

3 Likes

Those are stunning!
@Balloonchaser 😉

1 Like

I am hereby pronouncing this trend dead stop tagging innocent people

6 Likes

No im tagging him cuz of the balloons

1 Like

Ah yes of course I knew that

2 Likes