Airplane oscillation (my passengers must be sick!)

I got IF some years back on my old Kindle Fire HD. The experience was not great and I made some disparaging comments…apologies all round.

Got a new Kindle HD Oct 2016 and IF is now great, works a treat, so far. One issue, (I am still learning, having been a long time MSFS player) every plane oscillates on AP, from +100 feet to -100 feet, or even greater in flight.

I have checked the weather settings (no winds, no gusting). I have checked the aircraft configuration etc, all fine.

Could this just be a configuration issue with the Kindle? It doesn’t stop me enjoying IF but it’s not realistic. Is there something I am doing wrong or is there something I could do with configuration on the Kindle.

Thanks

3 Likes

Do you mean the aircraft rises and drops? What aircraft does this ussually happen in and is it when disabling autopilot?

1 Like

As an add on, this is known as ‘porpoising’. I notice that while my instruments show the plane to be bouncing up and down, the outside cameras do not support this, plane is level and stable!

Hi Riley, see my follow on post. The problem is when on AP but the instruments (which show a porpoising effect) are not confirmed by the outside view cameras, where the plane is in a level and stable flight.

So, the instruments tell me one thing but a check of the plane in flight doesn’t appear to confirm that?

I have the same experience and it never used to happen on Infinite Flight. I’ve noticed it on quite a lot of aircraft and I assume it begun on one of the most recent updates.

What speed were you on when this was happening?

1 Like

sounds like an old issue that I used to have when I tried to go too fast for the aircraft before I knew any better! However as you arte an experienced MSFS user then you will know not to max out the throttles. Though I haven’t had an issues since last update (B787).