Aircraft speed not reducing

I was travelling from VIDP ( DELHI ) to OMDB ( DUBAI ) using B777-300ER , during my descent my speed was not reducing even though spoilers were in flight…(1500fpm)
What could be the reasons and solution ?

3 Likes

I’m not a professional or anything but it could be your descending to fast and also from what I know the 777 is hard to slow down

4 Likes

Thats a big plane to slow down. Sometims you need to do step descents to slow down.

• Reduce speed
  • Spoilers on
  • Descend to 15k
  • Level off and keep spoilers and speed reduced to slow down more.
    Repeat as needed.

Many will level off at 11k to slow down more before going below 10k. It just takes some practice.

11 Likes

IRL it’s a slippery beast! Trying to descend at 1500 fpm and slow down generally isn’t going to happen, even with the spoilers out.

When you need to slow down reduce your rate of descent to around 300fm, pull the spoilers, wait until you get the airspeed you desire then increase the rate of descent and retract the spoilers. Always anticipate your speed profile.

Pitch up, slow down, pitch down, speed up.

Keep it simple!

10 Likes

From what I know, if you need it, you can raise the speedbrake 100% isn’t that correct? Even with that it wouldn’t slow down?

Not if you are trying to descend too fast no.

The aircraft weighs up to 200T+ on landing, that would need a massive speed brake surface to slow it down in a 1500fpm descent.

To slow down you must reduce your rate of descent. 2-300 fpm with speed brake will give you a very good decel profile.

2 Likes