A320 wing streaks

A320 wing streak

Today I was doing a flight from Rapid City South Dakota to Billings Montana. When I was taxiing to the runway I noticed these black streaks on the leading edge of the wing and under the fuselage. I was wondering if anyone else had noticed this before and knew the reason for it.

The two things I could think of to explain the black streaks was that this was added on purpose to make the aircraft look a little more “worn“, The second thing I thought of was that perhaps this was a glitch or mistake by the developers.

If someone has any more information or ideas I would love to hear them, thanks!

P.S. this is my first time creating a topic and would be open to hearing feedback on how I did. 😉

12 Likes

You did a great job for a beginner! For your real question, the developers must have put it in the plane to make it look more worn out as you previously said. It makes the aircraft look more realistic as we all know that an airplane can’t go for much long without a simple steak. This is the case with most aircraft in IF as well, look at some APUs, and some landing gear.

1 Like

Welcome and nice job on your first topic. This was intentionally added to give some character and realism to the livery. 🙂

31 Likes

That is just cool little graphics on the aircraft to make it look more realistic. In real life, you will see those on planes and they are produced from a long period of time without a cleaning. They evolve from fuel, and other pollutants in the atmosphere.

Thanks, good to know!

1 Like

You will also find marks like these on some other aircraft too, e.g. united 777-200Er battleship grey livery

That’s a very nice addition a certain Dev likes to add to his liveries. It’s nice to have variation as for the most part all the planes on IF tend to be nice and shiny.

1 Like

I never noticed it on the 777 before I will have to go look!

The AA B777’s 200’s also have it

1 Like