A little note of inspiration...

So, surely several folks in this community much like myself feel called to become pilots. And I bet there are many on here who are choosing to follow that calling after realizing that they just put four or more years into a degree choice they realized either was not for them, or if it was, it just wasn’t what they thought it was cut up to be. I ran into the reality of the latter: I spent a total of seven years going to music school to become a church organist, and only during and after my Masters degree was completed did I realize the harsh reality of what my degree can actually be used for - nothing. I have a bachelors in music, which can be applied anywhere, and a masters in Sacred music, which only comes in handy for high end church jobs, which are few and far between. The result of this scenario: a never ending struggle to find church work that pays well (I went into this thinking projected salaries were actually accurate, but they are really far from it for most churches), and myself sending random applications to anyone who is paying a living wage, just to pay the bills.

Is this the way to live life? Heck no.

I fell in love with flying in 1994, when I was two. My first flight was an international one, and I was enthralled by every bit of it. I still have a visual memory of it, 24 years later. I wanted to be a pilot all the way till high school, when I decided to become a musician instead. I enjoyed playing piano and organ (still love it just the same today), but had a false notion that it would pay a living wage. Beyond a now non-existent salary guide created by a national association for church music, there was really no basis for this assumption, unfortunately. People said I was great at music too, and that I really should follow that as my career. Grad school was also very discouraging in many ways, as it is for many grad students,

I screwed up in some ways doing this, i benefitted myself in other ways.