A-10 Routes

With the reworked A-10 out for a week now I have been wanting to fly it more but don’t know what kind of routes it flies. If someone could tell me or give me examples of routes that would be great. Thanks.

2 Likes

Preferably to and from military bases. Some of the A-10 planes are from various AFBs. Look them up and fly them around for pattern work or to another base.

@Major-Tom has been editing a ton of these AFBs. He can probably give you some routes to fly with the A-10. :)

1 Like

Great thank you

Is there also a limit on how far it flies. I’m kind of new to fighter/military aircraft

Of course. Like all aircraft, they hold a certain amount of fuel which limits their range.

The A-10 can fly about 2200nm according to google. You are able to get refueled by the KC-10 so that does extend its range by a lot. :)

3 Likes

Today happens to be your lucky day! Today we’re open at Pacific military bases. Use the Osan A10 and explore some of those routes.

6 Likes

If you love the A10 check out KMTN, KACY, and Tyler has a bunch of recommendations for their air bases as well.

KMTN was fun to edit ;)

7 Likes

I just did RKSO RJTY on the A-10. Nice 2h flight, beautiful scenery. Enjoy!

…and 80kt+ tailwinds ;)

1 Like

The best thing on flying Military aircraft is that you are most time not bound to routes.
The above mentioned 2200nm range are with 2 external fuel tanks and no ordnance. While we have no external fuel in the A10 any more the ferry range without ordnance is around 900nm depending on Winds.

If you are looking for a typical training route you might search for the Mach Loop in UK. I don‘t want to make it to easy, but if you google it and take a look in IF after that it’s easy to find…
Another nice VFR are is north of Aviano AB LIPA, ideal for VFR Valey flights in the alps, you could cross them and follow the river Rhine up to ETAD another historic A10 base.