2023 Plane Spotting Recap

2023 Plane Spotting Recap

Welcome to my plane spotting recap!
For those that don’t know, I have only been doing aviation photography for about a year and a half, and I’m still learning even more about aviation photography. I use a Canon EOSR10 & Canon RF 100-400mm F5.6-8 IS USM Lens to shoot long distance photos. And, for closer-up photos of aircraft I use a Canon RF-S 18-45mm F4.5-6.3 IS STM Lens. Throughout the year I have visited 4 different airports, and I visited 3 of them more than once. I will share 1-2 photos that are some of my favourites from the plane spotting trips.

17th-19th February Manchester Airport

This was my first plane spotting trip of the year, when I visited Manchester Airport. During this trip we stayed at the Delta Hotels by Marriott Manchester Airport, and the service at this hotel was fantastic. I really enjoyed this trip, as I had been wanting to photograph the Brussels Airlines “Smurfs Livery” and I was so happy when I saw it on the arrivals, as Brussels Airlines don’t fly to my local airport.

Brussels Airlines A320 - Smurfs Livery

4th-5th March Edinburgh Airport

Edinburgh Airport is another excellent airport, that offers great views of the runway. During this trip we stayed at the Hampton by Hilton at Edinburgh Airport, and the service at this hotel was alright. When I visited this airport, I saw several new airlines that I hadn’t seen before such as; Wizz Air, Edelweiss, United, Delta and a few others so I had great fun getting loads of photos of all of those aircraft!

Wizz Air A321

Swiss Airlines Shares My Photo

I share my plane spotting photos on Instagram, and I couldn’t believe it when Swiss Airlines shared my photo!😃 (IG: JacksAviation44)

6th-9th April Heathrow Airport